Auto Tagging, Ojos and the Rise of the Participatory Panopticon

image

The Social Software Weblog points to an inspired new business idea – Ojos (not yet in beta) will auto-tag your digital photos using face and text recognition: Auto Tagging, Ojos and the Rise of the Participatory Panopticon

Yeah, mass content. We better invent some way to sort all the data. Could make a million in a lifetime. If they dont vanish on the hard disk it’s a lot more fun to make em to.

We can already add voice memos to each image. Not a bad idea to actually use that now that I think of it. First make a picture of a person then have em record a memo. Would make a nice looking blog. Text to speech is probably better raw data to auto-tag with.

I imagine we could look at a tag cloud before we see a movie one day.

Mashable Says:

Absolutely. That reminds of a comment I read somewhere: in the future, a wife turns to her husband and says “Honey, where’d we put 2012??.

My point with auto-tagging is that at some point there will be too much info to simply tag it ourselves. I’ve been using GMail a lot recently, and it does a great job of filing away mails without you having to label them at all. Of course, you could set up predefined filters on your mini video camera (if that’s what we’re all carrying in a few years time) for certain faces, places or objects, just like you can with GMail. That way your entire life would be indexing without much effort at all…

Yes, LOL google search works perfectly.

I was just creating an opera browser session. I’m going to sort my surfing in separate windows by subject.

The subject was rss tags and OPML. Of course this blog post will be a part of it.

After this one I’m going to create a window with social bookmark sites. lol

Opera also saves the state of the window toolbar set up with the session, if a session has a lot of tabs I have no need for the toolbars. Can set the tabs at the side or have something that looks like a gmail application. LOL

From a business or a collectors point of view this sorting of our life shall add tremendous value. I’m sure this blog post is as good a place as a forum or email exchange.

One day we will share our personal data and images and the web archive will crawl and backup our whole hardisk, just because they can.

Our global artilect of automatically generated linkage is also growing. We could not begin to imagine what intellectual boost it could present globally.

I’ve seen a few learning games and must honestly say I didn’t think they could make it so fun jet so educative. I’ve also spotted that tutorials are becoming more amusing by the day. Or maybe I’m just less funny as I was. hehe

6 Responses to “Auto Tagging, Ojos and the Rise of the Participatory Panopticon”

  1. PeteCashmore Says:

    By the way: Ojos is now called Riya. Find it at http://www.riya.com.

  2. anusharaji Says:

    i wondered the same…..
    ojos?? i only heard of riya(i remember coz dev. by indian if am not wrong)

  3. Paul Kinlan Says:

    It might not be what you are looking for but I have created an Automated Blog Tagger. http://ajaxtag.kinlan.co.uk

    Paul Kinlan

  4. Paul Kinlan Says:

    Hey Gaby, Ignore that. I just realised I knew you knew about it :)

  5. gaby Says:

    it was amusing :)

  6. 12dailypro Says:

    Hey, if you haven’t heard of the “12dailypro vs Stormpay” fiasco yet, check out my post, “Kick My Ball Stormpay, Please?” on my blog. You’ll get a “kick out of it. lol :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

